Speakers 2017-11-14T18:18:39+00:00

Keynote Speakers

Opening General Session

“Safety Beyond PPE”
Kina Repp
Workplace Safety Advocate

At 8:00 a.m. Kina Repp began her first day of work in a fish processing plant. 40 minutes later her left arm was being torn from her body as she was caught in a moving conveyor belt. This horrifying accident and her fight to survive changed her life forever.

Kina’s story is tragic, insightful, compelling and powerfully motivating. She uses her experience to raise awareness about workplace hazards and the importance of making safe choices. Kina speaks to Fortune 500 companies, manufacturing companies, workforces, organizations and conferences about the importance of safety procedures, building a personal and corporate safety consciousness. Through poignancy and humor, Kina’s message impacts, resonates and inspires people to consider safety as a personal and corporate responsibility.

Kina has a Bachelor Degree in Education. She is a second-degree black belt and has competed in 13 marathons. She is an avid scuba diver, snow skier, and wakeboarder. She was honored in the 2002 Winter Olympic Games as an Olympic Torch Runner.

Morning General Session

Via Indiana Public Media.

“You Don’t Lose Until You Quit Trying”
Sammy L. Davis
Congressional Medal of Honor recipient

On November 18, 1967, the fire control base manned by Sammy L. Davis and the soldiers of Battery C, 2nd Battalion, 4th Artillery, 9th Infantry Division fell under heavy machine gun and mortar fire by elements of the 261st Viet Cong Main Force Battalion. While manning a machine gun position, Davis provided covering fire allowing his artillery position to return fire; however, the cannon was hit by direct enemy fire killing the gun crew and injuring Davis. Davis manned cannon position and operated the Howitzer himself allowing friendly forces to pull back to safety across a nearby river.

Having been injured a second time, this time by a mortar, Davis disregarded his own well-being and fired the cannon until he was out of ammunition. Davis then heard the cries for help from American servicemen attempting to cross the river. Davis grabbed an air mattress from the firebase and carried three wounded soldiers across the river, while returning fire, with a broken back.

Davis then moved to another Howitzer position and returned fire in an attempt to defend the besieged fire base.

On November 19, 1968, Davis was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor by President Lyndon Johnson.

His actions on November 18, 1967, inspired the wartime service depicted in “Forrest Gump,” including his citation ceremony with actor Tom Hank’s head added on top of Davis’s via computer-generated imagery (CGI).

Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards Luncheon

“The State of the Safety Profession”
Thomas F. Cecich, CSP, CIH
102nd President of ASSE, ASSE Fellow and Past President of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP)

Mr. Cecich is president of TFC & Associates a safety, health and environmental management consulting firm. He also serves as a strategic board advisor for Avetta, LLC. He was previously vice president of EHS Global Business Support at the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline where he had global EHS responsibility for 100 global manufacturing sites with 100,000 staff. He has also held safety management positions at IBM and Allied Chemical Corporations and is widely recognized for his extensive experience in safety, health, and environmental management.

On June 28, 2016 he was installed as the 102nd president of the American Society of Safety Engineers and served on the Society’s Board of Directors for 7 years. He is an ASSE Fellow, the Society’s highest honor. He has also served on the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) and is a past President of BCSP. He was previously the Chairman of the Board for the Manufacturing and Chemical Industry Council of North Carolina that represented 70 companies with 70,000 employees.

 


Breakout Session Speakers

 

Adele Abrams, JD, CMSP
President
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
safetylawyer@aol.com
www.safety-law.com

Julie Alexander, JD
Director of General Industry and Whistleblower Investigation Unit
Indiana Department of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Greg Anderson, MS
Environmental and Safety Director
Kennedy Tank & Mfg.
ganderson@kennedytank.com

Benjamin Atkinson
Ergonomist
Toyota Motor Manufacturing North America
benjamin.atkinson@toyota.com
www.workwrightgroup.com

William Bayne, MS, CSP
Senior Risk Management Consultant
Eastern Alliance Insurance Group
wbayne@eains.com
www.eains.com

Kevin Beswick, JD
RMS Safety
kevinb@rms-safety.com
www.rms-safety.com

Andrew Boester, CIH
Director of Health and Safety Services
SES Environmental
a.boester@sesadvantage.com
www.sesadvantage.com

Daniel Boreman, CHST, CSM, CSST
HSSE Director
Emission Monitoring Service, Inc.
dano.boreman@gmail.com
www.thesafetynerd.com

Kenneth Boucher II
Executive Director of Quality, Metrics and Statistics
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

David Burke, CSP
Loss Prevention Consultant
Gibson
dburke@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Jeff Carter
Senior Safety Consultant
Safety Resources Inc.
jcarter@safetyresources.com

Tom Cecich
Former President
American Society of Safety Engineers
tom@tfc-assoc.com

Shawn Cherri
Fall Protection Specialist
3M
stcherri@mmm.com

Stephen “Craig” Clark, CHST
Safety Services Manager
Safety Management Group
Craigclark@safetymanagementgroup.com

Greg Clone, CSP
Risk Management Executive
Eastern Alliance Insurance Group
gclone@eains.com
www.eains.com

Dee Davis
Senior Safety Consultant
National Transportation Consultants
DDavis@ntconsult.com

Izzy De Jesus, CSP, OHST
Loss Prevention Consultant
Gibson
idejesus@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Sheila Denman, PT
Sr. Vice President
ATI Worksite Solution
sheila.denman@atipt.com
www.atiworksitesolutions.com

Curt DeWeese, PT
Director
Atlas Injury Prevention Solutions
cdeweese@atlas-ips.com
www.atlas-ips.com

Tiffany Ellefson
General Manager
DISA/Midwest Toxicology Services
Tiffany.Ellefson@midwesttox.com
www.midwesttox.com

Brad Freeman, CSP, CIH
INSafe Health Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Eric Giguere
Motivational Safety Speaker
Safety Awareness Solutions
info@safetyawarenesssolutions.com
www.SafetyAwarenessSolutions.com

Amber Gray
Automation Area Manager IC/Sensors/Safety, FS Tech
Kirby Risk
agray@kirbyrisk.com
http://www.marketing.rockwellautomation.com/safety-solutions/en/

Bruce Guiliani, CSP, CET
Director of Safety and Loss Control
The Heritage Group
bruce.guiliani@heritagesafety.com
www.heritagesafety.com

Bruce Guiliani, CSP, CET
Corporate Safety and Loss Director
The Heritage Group
Bruce.Guiliani@heritagesafety.com

Chris Hall, CHST
Director of Education and Training
Safety Resources Inc.
chall@safetyresources.com

Cathy Hansell, SMS, CSM, CCSR, MS, JD
President
Breakthrough Results, LLC
chansell@breakthroughresults.org
www.breakthroughresults.org

Brad Harbaugh
Director of Marketing
VelocityEHS
eamdahl@ehs.com
https://www.ehs.com/

Eric Harper, CSP
Manager, Process Safety
EHS Technology Group
eharper@ehstech.com

Matthew Harris
Environmental Health & Safety Manager
Neovia Logistics
mharris2306@gmail.com

Stephanie Helgerman, CSP

Greg Hemker, CHMM
Principal
EHS Technology Group
ghemker@ehstech.com

Dean Hiles
Loss Prevention Consultant
Gibson
dhiles@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Jason Hill
General Manager
Cintas Corporation
hillj2@cintas.com

Justin Hoover, CSP, MS
Corporate Industrial Hygiene and Safety Resource Specialist
Steel Dynamics
justin.hoover@steeldynamics.com
www.steeldynamics.com

Brad Howell, DPT, OCS
Physical Therapist, Vice President of Indiana Operations
ATI Physical Therapy
bradley.howell@atipt.com
www.atipt.com

Gary Hulbert, CSP, CHMM
INSafe Health Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Dale Lesinski, QSSP
Vice President, Sales and Training
DiVal Safety
dlesinski@divalsafety.com
divalsafety.com

Daryn Lewellyn
President
Electrical Training Pro, LLC
daryn@electricaltrainingpro.com
www.electricaltrainingpro.com

Andy Litchfield, CEES
Loss Prevention Consultant
Gibson
alitchfield@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Kevin Lombardo
President and CEO
DORN Companies
kevin@dorncompanies.com
www.dorncompanies.com

Mark McDaniel
INSafe Safety Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Regina McMichael, CSP, CET
President
The Learning Factory, Inc.
regina.mcmichael@gmail.com
thelearningfactory.me

Regina McMichael, CSP, CET
President
The Learning Factory, Inc.
regina.mcmichael@gmail.com
thelearningfactory.me

Joe MeltonCSHO, SSH
Manager of Consulting
RCI/Dekra
joe.melton@dekra.com

Joe Melton, CSHO, SSH
Manager of Consulting
RCI/Dekra
joe.melton@dekra.com

Christina Merriott, CHST
Senior Safety Facilitator
Trinity Safety Group
chrismerr2003@gmail.com
www.trinitysafetygroup.com

Phil Mole
EHS and Sustainability Content Manager
VelocityEHS
eamdahl@ehs.com
https://www.ehs.com/

Emily Morlan, ASP
INSafe Safety Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Ben Peetz, CSP, CFPS
Agribusiness Risk Control Consultant
FCCI Insurance Group
bpeetz@fcci-group.com
www.fcci-group.com

Mark Pergrem, MS
Senior Consultant
SAFEmap International
mark.pergrem@safemap.com
www.safemap.com

Mark Pergrem, MS
Senior Consultant
SAFEmap International
mark.pergrem@safemap.com
www.safemap.com

Chuck Pettinger, PhD
Process Change Leader
Predictive Solutions
safetychuck@yahoo.com
www.predictivesolutions.com

Ryan Poor
Partner
Ice Miller LLP
ryan.poor@icemiller.com
www.icemiller.com

Debbie Rauen
INSafe Safety Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Tracey Riepenhoff, PE, CSP, PMP
Project Manager
LJB Inc.
TRiepenhoff@LJBinc.com
LJBinc.com

Gary Roth, MS, PhD
Health Scientist
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
groth@cdc.gov
https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/nanotech/nanotechnology-research-center.html

Francis Sehn, CSP, ARM
Vice President, Risk Control Services
Willis Towers Watson
fran.sehn@willistowerswatson.com

Damon Shodrock, CSP
Safety and Security Manager
Calumet San Antonio Refinery
Damon.Shodrock@calumetspecialty.com
http://www.calumetspecialty.com/about-us/facilities/calumet-san-antonio-refining

Daniel Snyder, CSP
CEO
SPAN International Training, LLC
dan@spansafety.com
www.spansafety.com

Daniel Snyder, CSP
CEO
SPAN International Training, LLC
dan@spansafety.com
www.spansafety.com

David Stauffer, CSP
Global Director of EHS
SBM Managment
dstauffer@sbmcorp.com

Terri Stofer
Assistant Environmental Health and Safety Director
BMWC
stofer@bmwc.com

Linda Tapp, CSP
President
SafetyFUNdamentals
lindamtapp@gmail.com
www.SafetyFUNdamentals.com

Curtis Taylor, ASP
INSafe Health Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Bryan Thais
INSafe Safety Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Labor
mellison@dol.IN.gov

Michael Topf, MA
President and CEO
Topf Initiatives
mtopf@topfinitiatives.com
www.topfinitiatives.com

William Trabilcy, CHMM, CET
Consultant/EHS Manager
EHS Works
EHSWorks@verizon.net
www.EHSWorks.net

Whitney Trent, EP-C
Health Risk Management Specialist
Gibson
wtrent@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Viresh Vasu, PT, OCS, COMT
Physical Therapist
ATI Physical Therapy
viresh.vasu@atipt.com
www.atipt.com

Debbie Vyskocil, BCN
President
Optimal Edge Performance
debbie@optimal-ep.com
optimal-ep.com

Pamela Walaski, CSP, CHMM
Director, Health and Safety
GAI Consultants, Inc.
p.walaski@gaiconsultants.com

Pamela Walaski, CSP, CHMM
Director, Health and Safety
GAI Consultants, Inc.
p.walaski@gaiconsultants.com

Marcy Watson
Association Manager
Coalition for Construction Safety (CCS)
mwatson@ccs-safety.org
www.ccs-safety.org

Bradford Weber
Operations Manager, Safety Consulting
Sheakley
brad.weber@sheakley.com
www.sheakley.com

Clay West
Corporate Environmental Health and Safety Director
BMWC
cwest@bmwc.com

Jeff White
Partner
VisionThree
jwhite@visionthree.com
www.visionthree.com

Hillary Whitney, CEES
Client Specialist, Risk Management Services
Gibson
hwhitney@gibsonins.com
www.gibsonins.com

Clinton Wolfley, CSP, CHST, STSC
Director, Business Development
Board of Certified Safety Professionals
clint.wolfley@bcsp.org
www.bcsp.org

Greg Zigulis, CSP, CIH
President/Health and Safety Manager
Sixth Sense Safety Solutions
gz@sixthsensesafetysolutions.com
www.sixthsensesafetysolutions.com

Jonathan Zimmerman, CSP, CHMM
EHS Manager
Kellogg’s
jonathan.zimmerman@kellogg.com

[/one_half_last]